Location History allows Google to periodically store your location data when sent by Location Reporting, and connect the data to this Google account.
This data can be used to improve your overall Google experience.
Remember that Location Reporting sends data to Google even when you are not interacting with a specific Google product, such as Google Maps.
You can view and manage your Location History data on the Location History website. You can pause Location History at any point, but doing so won't delete your Location History data. Pausing Location History also does not turn off Location Reporting, or location services (like GPS) for your devices.